In some countries the quality of life in larger cities is declining. Why do you think this is happening? What measures can be taken to stop it?

Since the beginning of capitalism period, governments have seen a rural exodus of citizens from the countryside to urban zones. The high geographic concentration of population, nonetheless, has had negative impacts on human welfare in major cities. This essay argues that the statistics are a consequence of lack of structure, and to tackle such reflex, specific public investments are necessary. The principal justification for the drop of living standards is the rapid, extensive, and unplanned city growth. As a consequence of the enormous number of vehicles and narrow streets, metropolitan area extension has been followed by daily heavy traffic. Additionally, air and sound pollution from private cars have also resulted in adverse effects to citizens’ health. For instance, according to studies conducted by the University of Bristol, asthma disease rates are forty percent superior in mega-cities in comparison to the majority of small towns. Therefore, the side effects on people’s mental and physical healthy decrease quality of life. Enhancing living condition rates require a genuine public effort. Firstly, public administration needs to invest in alternative transportation methods which include both public and environmentally-friendly options, such as electric trains and bike lanes. Secondly, the State should focus on sustainability. That means building more green spaces as well as reforesting damaged areas. To illustrate the positive effects that come from the transformations, comparing Toronto and New York, statistics reveal that while the first previous mentioned is on the top of livability rankings, the other one is barely among the first hundred. To conclude, this essay argued that the decline is mainly caused by the poor urban structure and the expressive number of residents. Thus, the investment in clean transports as well as train, buses, and subways could assist in the pollution rates. Moreover, public green areas could improve residents’ health and as a result, the well being of a whole community.