“Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?”

Novel methods of relationships like SMS and email have posed a reduction in time spent on face-to-face communications by people which has affected their social lives in a negative way. I definitely agree with this idea and in this essay, I will discuss the mentioned issue. It is generally acknowledged by several people that new ways of communication such as online platforms provide a helpful area to keep in touch with your friends and relatives even distant ones. In fact, without these facilities, most of them may lose touch simply. Additionally, today's modern lives do not leave any free time gap for individuals to meet and socialize with others face-to-face. So, it can be counted as an advantage for humans to let them keep all of their friends simultaneously. A case in point is the Instagram application which has facilitated users' access to whole of their friends. On the other hand, there is ample evidence that by using modern technologies nobody is able to show his/her emotions and relations turn to be soulless. It means the depth of relations will be lost. Furthermore, using too many social media platforms makes people more introverted and bashful in daily life. As a result, they can not make new friends in their real lives. For instance, we witness those people who used to be party animals but started to avoid showing up in public. Consequently, although nowadays further access to modern ways of communication has brought more convenience to states' lives since it lets them keep their friendships while saving time due to not going out to see them, I am of the opinion that more emotional relations and improved social behaviour are more important and it is vital to keep the using of modern technologies for communication to the minimum.