Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

In this present world, there are several ways to assess a student's performance. There is still an ongoing debate on whether formal examinations are the best way in terms of evaluating a student's performance or it is the continual assessments such as weekly assignments and projects that show a student's performance efficiently. In my opinion, weekly assignments, teamwork and projects are the most accurate ways to assess a student's performance. Standardized examinations could lack giving accurate results since there are many factors affecting a student's performance during exams such as their mood, motivation and interests. Students who did great work on their classes could fail in exams due to bad mood they are in during the exam. In addition to being in a bad mood, students can get excited during the exams which could also affect the student's performance in a negative way. This could mislead a teacher when assessing a student's performance. However, getting bad grades does not mean that the student's overall performance is below average. Since, getting students motivated during exams is impossible, we can conclude that formal examinations are not efficient enough when evaluating a student's overall performance. Area of interest related to school subjects can differ from student to student. Because of this, they could perform a bad performance on the examinations of subjects that they do not like. This could also lead mislead teachers in terms of assessing student's performance. On the other hand, students can easily encouraged to do well on a project with other students or their teacher even they do not like the subject. Thus, continual assessments give more accurate results on student's performance. To sum up, there are many ways to evaluate a student's performance. However, continual assessments give more accurate results than formal examinations. It is, therefore much more effective when it comes to assess a student's overall performance.