In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes?

Many nations are witnessing a drastic rise in crime rates. I think this is attributable to multiple reasons such as lack of education, unemployment, an inefficient judicial system, to name a few. This essay will deal with reasons and find out as to how can one resolve such issues Firstly, education plays a crucial role in shaping an individual’s character. It is education that makes us capable of differentiating right and wrong early in our childhood. Lack of basic education is one amongst the primary causes of increasing crimes. For example, in my country India, a vast majority of the population is illiterate. This has a deleterious impact on the society as a whole because people turn to crime without any thought, they cannot comprehend what’s right and wrong. To deal with this issue, primary education should be made available to everyone without any fees and government should take serious measures to make this mandatory for everybody. Furthermore, the other main cause of the spike in crime rates is unemployment. When people cannot find work, they have all the free time in the world. They think of crime as a shortcut to obtaining and possessing the riches of life, without any hard work. To tackle this problem, authorities should focus on increasing jobs and also introducing some compensation to unemployed people. In lieu of such compensation, they should be made to do social and community work. In addition, an inefficient judicial system is equal to be blamed. Failing to punish the criminals in time is yet another reason why people are not afraid of committing crime. To exemplify, India reported the cruel and inhuman gang rape case a few years ago. It got global attention, there was mass protest, people demanded immediate justice. In spite of such a movement, it took over three years to come out with a judgement and yet the criminals have still not been executed. In such cases, it is the slow and laid-back judicial system which is responsible for many rape cases being reported every single day. I think, if the government imposes severe implications of violating laws, crime rates will definitely see a rapid fall. To conclude, there is an urgent need for the governments to focus on addressing illiteracy and unemployment problems, which attribute to the rise of crime rates. At the same time it demands for strengthening the judicial system so people fear the repercussions of committing a crime.