Some people think that media have the right to publish details of people's private lives, while others think it should be controlled. Discuss both views.

In the present times, privacy is one of the major concerns of everyone. Currently a debate is going on between two groups of people, where the first group thinks that the media have the right to publish details of someone's personal life. On the other hand, the second group believes that whatever is published in the media about the personal lives of people should be controlled. This essay will discuss both sides of the point in detail. At present, getting information about someone's personal life has become very easy owing to the development of information technology. In order to increase the sales, media companies publish details of people's private lives. They justify their position by saying that, they are only publishing the truth and everyone has the right to know that. It increases transparency and accountability, as the media reveal the secret of corrupt politicians and businessmen. It is a general believe, that people tend to be honest with their activities, if they know that their personal lives can be exposed to the public. On the contrary, if the media starts to interfere with everyone's personal activities and publish them in their news, then people will be left with no personal space. As we know, everyone wants to enjoy their personal life and expend private moments with their loved ones, therefore, it is mandatory to regulate what can be published in the news. The penalty must be imposed, if the media do not follow the rules. A recent survey has shown that sixty percent of the people do not want to share their personal lives in the media. To sum up, privacy issue is a very important matter of discussion nowadays and many people have different opinions in this regard. Although, some people love the idea, that media have the right to expose someone by stating the truth, the other believes that media must follow a set of rules and honour one's private life.