In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second hand clothing amongst younger generations. Why is this happening? Do you think it's a positive or negative development?

Borrowed clothes amongst youngsters have become increasingly popular in the past few years. This essay will argue that one of the reasons for this to happen is because the older clothes are now becoming new fashion trends and I believe that this is totally a positive development because this saves a lot of money for an individual. Younger individuals now prefer second -hand clothes because they are more conscious about the latest fashion trends of creating a new look with older clothes. Young people prefer mixing and matching dresses that they had borrowed from their friends and relatives or sometimes even by reusing their own older clothes which changes the attire completely and very often people do not believe that they have reused their garments. For example, the deciding factor for entrance into the National Institute of Fashion Technology is a task of creating a completely different look from the second -hand clothes given to its applicants. Reusing clothes have the benefit of saving money, which can be used elsewhere by the younger members of the society. That is to say that by decreasing their spendings on new dresses which are often priced high, they are able to ease their monthly budget. These youngsters now have a lot of savings that they can spend on other fun activities like parties, adventure sports and also on vacations. For instance, a recent survey by a popular travel magazine reported that 59% of the youngsters prefer spending on travelling rather than buying new clothes which they will compensate by reusing borrowed once. In conclusion, reusing borrowed clothes has become more common among young people because they see this as a new fashion trend and it saved them a lot of money which is totally a benefiting development.