It is argued that mobile phones and other electronic devices have no place in the classroom. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Nowadays, cell phones have become very popular and easily available throughout the world. Most of the students from across the globe have access to smartphones and they have been using these gadgets not only for study purposes but also for personal uses. However, I believe, the mobile phones should not be allowed in classrooms because it distracts the pupils and also affect the effective interaction. One of the main reasons for not allowing mobile phones during study time is that it diverts student’s concentration and even other candidates in the class. As a result, they don’t understand the subject matter and gets poor grades in mark sheet. For example, during my final year of undergraduate studies, there was a good student in my batch, named Javed, who failed in his favourite subject because of mobile chatting during the lecture times. So, to make them distract less from mobile phones, these kinds of electronic devices should be kept out of the classroom. Another reason is a disturbance in lecture, discussion between teacher and students. Although they can browse various sites using mobile data or Wi-Fi, to get the information about the topic discussed in the classroom, but he might lack the knowledge and important points which his teacher is discussing in class. In addition, he might waste too much time visiting the non-authentic sites. For instance, there are many personal blogs and websites where they cannot get a relevant understanding of the topic. All in all, despite having a few advantages of using the mobile devices in the classroom, they must not be allowed to use their cell phones so that they can achieve better results and build a bright future. Furthermore, this maintains a better learning and teaching environment for both students and teachers.