The growing number of overweight people is putting strain on the healthcare system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

The health care system is pressurised to solve the problems caused by an increasing number of overweight people. Certain people believe that incorporating more physical education classes in the school schedule is key in dealing with this issue. I completely agree the above statement because this can help grow interest in exercising and act as a long-term approach. The best way to tackle the problem of obesity is to add more physical education lessons to their schedule as this will grow their passion in exercise and sports. For example, studies have shown that students are more likely to pursue a form of exercise after school if they have a growing interest. In addition, this interest can spread to their family members. Therefore, adding more exercise classes to the school curriculum causes a growing interest in staying healthy. Additionally, adding more physical education lessons is a long-term effect of eradicating the health problems caused by overweight people. In turn, this can continue beyond their schooling life, thus reduce the number of overweight people. This can ensure the population becomes healthier and fitter. For instance, the average child only undertakes a form of exercise 2 times per week, which is not merely enough to counteract their sedentary lifestyle. For this reason, incorporating more sport classes and extracurricular activities ensures a more fit population. In conclusion, adding more physical education classes can be beneficial to reduce the increasing rates of obesity because it can affect the future generation as well as assist in growing interest to continue an active lifestyle. Therefore, I completely agree with the statement.