Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In contemporary society, the debate surrounding who should be punished if a child commits a crime, themselves or their parents, is ongoing. This essay will explore both perspectives. While some argue that children should be punished as they did it by themselves, others contend that parents should be arrested as they are responsible for them until the age of 18.    Nowadays, youngsters commit crimes without thinking about the consequences. Although they are confidently committing crimes because they are under 18, and they know that their parents will take responsibility, the government can make rules against young people who are committing crimes, so they will know that if they do something bad, it will not go unpublished. However, punishing them at such young ages can cause serious problems with their health. It may be psychological and emotional trauma for them. Moreover, they don't know what they are actually doing, as they may commit it under the influence of someone or something. Thus, they must be punished, as they are the ones who committed this crime and take responsibility for their actions, but it may cause serious problems for their mental health.   In contemporary society, parents are responsible for their children's actions until the age of 18. Furthermore, they are the ones who are punished for their children's crimes, which is good as they are the ones who are worried about their child and they are not letting their child suffer. Nevertheless, parents should care more about their own lives and let their children be punished. Although they are responsible for their children, young people should  worry and not commit crimes. As a consequence, it is true that parents worry about their children and take full responsibility for themselves, but they also should think about themselves.    In conclusion, youngsters who commit crimes should be strictly punished. Even though it will affect their health, they are the ones who commit this crime. Also, parents should think more about their lives rather than only worrying about their child and taking all the responsibility