Some people think that punishment is the best way of teaching children to behave well. Others believe that it is better to reward children for good behaviour. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often said that children should have to be punished for their wrongdoings while some parents think that rewards can shape an individual better. Personally, I believe that each way has its own pros and cons. On the one hand, punishment can not be underestimated when it is done with care and appropriate extent, otherwise children who refrain from doing something they like due to the fear of receiving punishment may have permanent trauma and isolate themselves at home. On the other hand, rewards and recognition are the positive pillars to motivate a person. Because of the fact that compliments could bring children happiness and satisfaction, they might feel pressured sometimes. In that situation, offspring may be in fear of not meeting their parents' expectations, thus, they may mess up everything and lose their motivation. However, punishments must not mean physical or mental torture and they have their own impact on the life of an individual. For example, parents can build up some discipline such as forbidding children from eating their favourites or neglecting them for a sufficient time to help them recognize their wrongdoings. Moreover, rewarding and giving recognition can form children into more confident and self-assured individuals. Complementing children for their excellence boosts their self-esteem and helps them become better people. For example, in a particular story I have heard before, the student who hadn't had good grades and good behaviour changed in a positive way after hearing his teacher's compliments. In conclusion, childhood is the most impactful period of a person's life and both rewards and punishments are necessary. In my opinion, the more important thing is the realisation of things from both their wrongdoings and right doings.