It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to the university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Taking a break, usually a year between finishing school and resuming education has rapidly become widespread. This break is quite beneficial to some as it affords many the opportunity to work and save funds. However, there are some associated drawbacks such as getting involved with bad friends and these will be discussed in the essay Most students decide to take a holiday before the onset of university academic study and this comes with various benefits. Firstly, it enables them to obtain a job that allows them to save up funds and become financially stable, at the same time gain experience. Secondly, a few students may decide to take up tutorial classes involving the course to be lectured in school. As such, these students are mentally prepared at the resumption of academic work and excels greatly. For instance, my sister took up a catering appointment at a bakery, where she is involved in the art of baking cakes, biscuits and bread. Ultimately, she is at an advantage, gaining both financially and obtaining a baking experience. On the other hand, students who decide on taking a break from academics may end up hanging around with bad friends in the neighbourhood. As a result, they get involved in vices such as smoking, drinking and theft. This costly decision may result in an ill health or loss of life. For example, a family friend, whose son decided on a year relaxation from school got involved with some cultist in his neighbourhood and lost his life during a shootout. Hence, a year off, prior to becoming an undergraduate can be disastrous. In conclusion, the character of the activities to be carried out by students who takes a leave from academic work prior to resumption of university study should be well guided by parents or tutors, as this decision could either be beneficial or deadly.