Some say that people living in high-rise apartments are lonely and unhappy, while others say that it’s advantageous to stay in high-rise apartments.Discuss both views and give your opinion

Although it is asserted by some that dwelling in high-rise houses makes some people discontented, others hold the opinion that it is rewarding to live in such buildings. In my perspective, staying in a high-rise apartment block has a plenty of merits such as local facilities and safety. This essay will analyse both standpoints of the argument and present my support for the aforementioned view. Admittedly, a high-rise building has its demerits. The primary factor why some people feel loneliness and dissatisfaction while dwelling in towers is a lack of communication with their neighbours. To be more precise, fast pace of life forces them to become estranged. They tend to be busy with their work and might not have spare time for a social interaction. My close friend, for instance, who lives in the USA, complains that she cannot rely on her neighbours in hard times because she even does not know them. Another cause of feeling unhappy when living in tall buildings is the fear of such a natural calamity as an earthquake, since many of modern buildings are, perhaps, built quickly and some of architectural standards might not be followed. As a result, dwelling in such architectural buildings may bring a sense of aloofness and anxiety, whether the building is disaster-resilient. Opponents, however, claim that there are obvious merits in residing the skyscrapers. The key advantage is that many of these houses may offer their residents multiple amenities like local gyms, swimming pools, libraries and gardens; hence, this allows their dwellers to rejuvenate and reduce stress after a backbreaking work. To illustrate, some Canadian multi-storey buildings which are equipped with necessary facilities help their inhabitants to strengthen relations between the neighbours. Alternatively, the residents of tall buildings may be contented since they are guarded 24 hours. In other words, they feel secure because the risk of burglary is mitigating. If, in contrast, the dwellers of high-rise apartment blocks did not have such conveniences, their life would  not be delighted. In conclusion, while people vary in their opinions, I strongly believe that life in skyscrapers can be comfortable and safe making their dwellers contented.