In some countries, young people find it difficult to communicate with older people. Why is this? What are the solutions?

The major reason for the alienation of the youth in terms of communication with the elderly is the so-called generation gap. As younger generations grow up in a mobile, fast-changing world, they experience the changes in values and attitudes that do not correlate with the traditional set of mind of their grandparents. Thus, they share no common ground to hold a conversation about trivial matters, such as love, preferences and pastime. This disconnect comes down to the traumatising past experiences that affected the elderly's mentality. For example, it might be impossible for the millenials to understand neither what it was like to live during the war,watching people die, nor what being on the brink of starvation was like, that is why when younger ones sit at the table, they can hardly find a topic for discussion, opting for silence or a series of short answers,they might be reproached for afterwards. Learning how to navigate this generational divide can go a long way towards easing communication tensions between the generations. Therefore, a potential solution might be familiarising oneselves with the events of the past, trying to live them through. It can be done either through watching documentaries or films of the past years, what is more, the input could be intensified if followed by a Q&A session with a grandparent, who could unpack the truth about war events based on their recollections as well as share the burden. Such an approach is likely to bond people emotionally, hence heal the rift. In this case, the communication gap might be bridged because of mutual understanding and shared values.