Scientists tell us some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that million of people continue doing unhealthy activities. What are the causes and what are the solutions?

Everyone's goal to be fit with a healthy mind and body, and today's society is being more conscious about leading a healthy lifestyle. Despite whatever scientist's advice, about what is good and bad for our body, still people continue to do unhealthy activities. In my opinion, the main cause for this is being addicted to substance abuse, and the apt solution is education and therapy, which will be further discussed in this essay. To begin with, activities such as smoking and drinking are sill continued by a large proportion of people, despite being aware of its ill effects. In cigarettes the substance nicotine causes addiction, while in alcohol, it is due to dependance. Easy availability and peer pressure are the main reasons for this dependance. Moreover, another ill habit to be noted is that of chewing tobacco, leading to dental and oral cancers. People have been following this activity generations back and is still considered as part of a culture in some regions. For instance, in Bihar it is a custom that guests should chew pan, as a sign of gesture of accepting their hospitality. However, various steps can be taken to take care of these issues. One of which is, to rehabilitate people who are addicted to drinking, by being admitted at de-addiction centres. In these centres, the patient would undergo a series of counselling and medical therapies. Whereas, in the case of nicotine, other than educating its side effects other measures are to be implemented. In which, nicotine in cigarettes needs to be replaced with nicotine gums or patches, where eventually their dependance can be reduced with time. In conclusion, even though people are aware of the drawbacks of an unhealthy lifestyle they continue with it due to its dependance. But, these habits can be curbed to an extent by counselling and rehabilitation.