some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Historically, voluntary work has always been considered a stepping stone that prepares individuals to take on more important responsibilities in the future. That's why employers prefer to hire people who have such experiences written on their resumes. For the same reason, some people hold the view that mandatory community work should be implemented in high school training. I agree with this point of view, and in the following essay, my opinion will be supported by several reasons and rationale. firstly, one of the main benefits of unpaid voluntary community services is that it enhances a sense of dedication and commitment to work in teenagers. similar to any other desirable personality traits, in order to be internalized, these characteristics need to be rehearsed at regular intervals. moreover, what makes the high school period a golden opportunity to fulfill this purpose is that the human personality is not entirely formed until the late 20s, therefore, any behavioral modification done before this age would have better outcomes. secondly, the adolescence period is a risky one, and unless this time is supervised correctly, room for the development of some unhealthy behaviors such as addiction will emerge. In many cases, if teenagers had been assigned to tasks such as charity work or helping the elderly that positively contribute to their society, destructive habits like gambling or drug misuse wouldn't have been chosen in the first place. in short, doing community service works without getting paid is beneficial as it could simultaneously nurture positive characteristics and prevent unacceptable ones from occurring. turning to the other side of the argument, it is believed by some that in high school education, the focus should be mainly placed on academic aspects. in my idea, although obtaining the necessary skill and knowledge is vital, the importance of concurrent maturation of a student's personality should not be neglected. To recapitulate, if children get involved in activities that prepare them to handle more responsibilities, they will become more competent and reliable as future employees. I believe that such modifications in high school programs could positively affect their personal development as well reducing the risk of falling into the trap of addiction.