Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The healthcare sector is absolutely vital in every country and it is seen as a barometer of its development. Getting a proper medical facility is a necessity which no one should be deprived of. Free medical service should be available to all citizens, especially for those diseases which can prove to be life threatening. This service should not be limited based on cost parameters. In most of the developed countries in the world the cost incurred for the free treatment of its citizens is compensated through the tax payer's money. Tax brackets are quite high in these countries and thus people expect high quality and free medical services in return. Treatment of diseases such as cancer is extremely expensive and needs to be covered as most of the people won’t be able to afford it. For example, in Canada, tax deducted can be up to 40% of your salary, but all the latest treatments are available free of cost. It is the Government's responsibility to take care of the basic utilities like education, infrastructure and medical services. Though including the latest, high cost medical treatment can dent the allocated budget, it is necessary to include these treatments, without which the entire notion of a free health service fails. To overcome the cost challenges, the Government can make tax related changes by increasing the medical cess and allocating more funds towards the medical sector. Health insurance premiums can be increased, which will cover the additional cost. To conclude, the medical service should be free of cost, irrespective of the type of treatment because it is the tax payer's right to avail such a service and the Government need to take proper steps to earn the required revenue for doing so.