Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are the reasons for this, and what solutions can be suggested? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

The last few years have experienced burgeoning growth in the youth crime level. Lack of parental guidance, peer pressure and unemployment are the main reasons for this. There are a number of effective solutions to reduce the number of youth convicts. One main reason for young people contemplating crime is because they are not guided properly either by parents or by teachers. For example, if the family and school teach them to shun criminal and anti-social behaviour, the crime level can be reduced. Another point to consider is that peer groups exert enormous influence in the behaviour of young people. When a person is with the peer group, they only pay scant attention to the outcome of a crime and, therefore, commit unpremeditated crime. Finally, because of the fierce competition in the job market, young people find it so hard to find a job and meet their needs. This encourages them to commit crimes such as pick-pocketing and holding a person for ransom. There are a numerous solutions to tackle this problem. Firstly, more police on the beat can put off people from committing crime. If people are aware of the consequences of committing a crime, they will be put off from doing it. Secondly, the government should introduce training program to ensure that more people are getting employed. For instance, the convicts who are unemployed are more in number when compared to people with job and they mostly commit crime for catering their basic needs. In conclusion, improving employment opportunities as well as enforcing law and order can put off people from committing crime.