Some people believe it is good to share as much as information as possible in scientific research, business and academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your opinion?

In recent times, an exchange of information or ideas is often seen with suspicion. A section of society believes that, brainstorming the required information will lead to a collective development of their society or nation. However, there are others who perceive that nothing comes for free and red lines to be drawn before sharing the details of certain innovations. This essay will cover both these views with my opinion inclined towards the latter. On the one hand, there is a known belief that sharing is caring. There were several societies whose infrastructures were uplifted just because of sharing their innovation and their research. For example, the Greek and Roman civilizations have contributed their wealthy modes of trade, health care and learning alphabets to the entire planet by which our ancestors benefited right from using coins till exploring trade through sea-route. None have complained about any intellectual theft nor any innovation crisis. On the other hand, nothing can be taken for granted. That’s the reason, there are so many controls placed from arms embargo, space research, fighter jets and nuclear proliferation. For example, if there were no such controls to these niche technologies, it could be captured by anyone who could sound a death knell to the entire human race on earth. We have already suffered a nuclear disaster in Japan and none can afford to see another apocalypse. For that reason, innovations have to be protected and copyrights were issued. To recapitulate, sharing is certainly a boon to the well-being of humans. Although, it serves a purpose in sharing business and academic researches, not all can be shared as it would cause a pandemonium among various countries. This would lead to an unhealthy technology race and could trigger a war to show who dominates the world. Therefore, certain core ideas and innovations always have to be protected to deliver its purpose, else an Armageddon is waiting in our next door.