An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In today's world of modernization, a section of advocates, promotes the usage of modern technological methods such as, tablets and laptops in institutions over the traditional system of printed material. In this essay, I would like to describe various advantages and disadvantages of carrying various forms of technology to an educational institution. There are 3 key advantages of adopting this new ideology. Firstly, these devices can decrease the load being carried by students each day. For example, the weight of a tablet on an average is around 500 grams, whereas books tend to be heavier. As a result, it is more convenient for children to carry a computerized device to school. Secondly, exams and assignments can be attempted on these gadgets. Furthermore, teachers can also grade these papers on their own computers. Ultimately, this can transform the conventional method of a pen and paper test to a more advanced system with no loopholes. Thirdly, deforestation is an important environmental issue nowadays. Hence, elimination of textbooks can save a lot of trees and help us to protect our environment. There are 2 main drawbacks that are associated with this idea. For instance, studies suggest that pupils who use a gadget to study are more distracted as compared to those who read a book. The reason behind this is that a number of softwares are available these days, which are appealing to the youth. Thus, younger minds are not able to concentrate on academics. In addition to this, a laptop is expensive. As a consequence, people who cannot afford them are at a huge disadvantage as compared to their fellow mates. In conclusion, I would like to affirm that the youth of today should be encouraged to adapt with time and utilize tablets to make studying easier. Parents should keep in mind the distractions that are linked with them.