In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development

The last few years we see that a big shopping centre are popping up everywhere in our cities. Many so called convenient stores are becoming less profitable and closing almost every week. I think it is a bad tendency and it will have a sad consequences for people who are living around. Firstly, closing local stores will increase the unemployment rate. People who have a job in the small shops will lose their posts and probably they will not take the opportunity from the malls that placed quite far from their previous locations. We can see from the open sources that this situation is real, last large mall on the west side of London had erased almost all small shops around. It is quite easy to see that this is not good for our city, we should support the local stores more. Secondly, removing distributed network of small stores will increase the number of traffic jams. Many people will not be able reach big shopping centre by walk and as a big mall is a very attractive place for large amount of people, we may expect more cars and public transport will be showing near it. Last time I was trying to get there and it took me almost 2 hours! For me it is so easy to buy groceries at the local store. By concentrating the large amount of people around the malls we, clearly, are harming to our public transport system. In conclusion, we see that local stores is an important thing that any balanced city should have.