Some people think that watching TV causes weight problems in children. Do you agree with this view? What solution you can suggest to tackle children’s weight problem?

Technological advancement has changed our lives significantly. There are a variety of home entertainment available and most of the children spend their leisure time at home, watching TV and playing online games in recent years. Some people argue that this has led to a negative health consequence among children, and an increasing number of young people are becoming obese. I agree with the above point, and this issue can be tackled by two simple ways- increasing physical activity and leading a healthy diet. It is widely acknowledged that a sedentary lifestyle contributes to weight gain. As many children spend hours in watching TV and playing games rather than playing outside, they are prone to obesity. According to a study conducted in Australia, the prevalence of obesity among school age children has increased significantly in the past 30 years. This is a critical issue as being overweight is often correlated to health complications such as early onset diabetes and mental diseases among young children. Some actions need to be taken to reduce the likelihood of childhood obesity, otherwise the situation will only worsen, and further health complications may occur. As weight gain is related to physical inactivity and unhealthy diet, children should be encouraged to participate in regular exercise and intake adequate nutrients from healthy food. For example, pupils can participate in a regular workout if it is incorporated into a school curriculum. Furthermore, they can participate in a sport club outside of school to increase their physical activities. Regular exercise and healthy diet are the keys in maintaining healthy weight and reducing long-term health issues such as cardiovascular diseases and diabetes in later life; therefore, children should be encouraged to pursue this healthy lifestyle. In conclusion, although modern technologies such as the internet and television have made our lives convenient and more entertaining, an increasing number of children suffer from obesity due to lifestyle changes brought by the technological development. Children should engage in exercise and have healthy meals to maintain their health by avoiding overweight.