Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does this issue have on society?

University students from various countries tend to choose non- science -related studies when choosing a major at university. This choice is a result of various different reasons and can significantly affect our society as a whole, which will be discussed in this essay. Choosing the right major is a challenge that most senior high school students experience. As a result, most of them opt for majoring in fields that are considered simpler, hence avoiding science -related majors. Based on my experience, students tend to enjoy subjects that are less demanding, like history and art, compared to physics and chemistry. This can cause premature judgment regarding the difficulty of science -related university courses when choosing a major. Another reason why science majors are being avoided is due to uncertainties regarding future job opportunities. Occupations that can be obtained with science degrees are not well known to the public compared to non- science degrees. For example, we can become an accountant with a degree in accounting, a manager with a degree in management, and so on. But with a physics degree, will we become physicists? The jobs tied to science degrees sound restricting and unappealing to the younger generation without the proper knowledge regarding the variety of jobs to choose from. Furthermore, the lack of competence in the science field can have a substantial effect on our society. For instance, the cosmetics industry needs to perform research and development in the early stages of product creation. This stage particularly requires the participation of a competent individual with a degree in either chemistry or pharmacy, and without them, the product will cease to exist. This means that a competent individual from each respective science field is required to perform well in their industries to then be able to contribute to society’s economy. In addition, the lack of science graduates might also result in fewer researchers contributing to the advancements in science and technology. The modern technology we are all accustomed to today, like our phones, medicine, computers, and so on, is the result of decades of research done by numerous scientists. A low number of researchers might slow down this process, unable to meet goals set by the government. In conclusion, more and more students are likely to choose non- science subjects as their university majors for a variety of reasons, such as level of perceived difficulty and lack of knowledge regarding career opportunities. Consequently, our society might face the effects of this, such as low scientific competence in respective industries and fewer researchers, both contributing to a slower pace in the modernization of science and technology.