In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertising is an important aspect for a company to reach their market. These days, the product that a company will be selling is emphasized as a newly made product. This essay will show my view about the negative side of this trend. Firstly, this is a common trick used by businesses these days which sometimes they label their product as a fresh one but in fact, it is only having a minimal change of the previous version. For instance, the famous iPhone by Apple always gets high attention every year for its release. Unfortunately, the high anticipation turned into disappointment for a lot of Apple consumers due to the similarity of the iPhone 14 with the prior release of the iPhone 13. This shows that a business does not make any improvement or innovation into their product yet still claims it as a brand new one to attract their market. However, the disappointment does not change the enthusiasm of some people. There will be consumers who are still willing to spend their money on the item which could lead to consumerism. In fact, Apple users who already owned an iPhone 13 will still buy the newest version although it is clearly stated that the product is similar. It is clearly seen that this is an unnecessary purchase that could create an excessive amount of trash which led to environmental issues. To summarize, I believe that this type of advertisement by businesses may lead to a negative outcome where human beings are consumptive of a product that is not a breakthrough.