Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health. Others believe that the Government should make sure that their citizens are healthy. Discuss both views.

Better health is central to human happiness and well-being. Some people think that individuals should look after their own health, while others think that it is the government's responsibility to provide care to maintain citizens' health. This essay will discuss both views regarding the topic. First of all, Individuals owe the responsibility and the right to their own health. A competent person who has a capacity to make his or her own decision has the right to do so; therefore, no one can override a decision of such individual regarding medical decisions. While most of people concern their own physical and mental well-being and seek healthy lifestyles throughout their lifetime, some people will not listen to advice from medical professionals, or knowingly harm their own health by making wrong health choices. For example, smoking is well recognised as a significant risk factor for various diseases such as cancer, cardiovascular diseases and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. Nonetheless, some smokers choose not to quit smoking, and no one can force him to change their behaviours. On the other hand, governments should promote a healthy society by implementing necessary interventions to empower citizens. If citizens are equipped with adequate health knowledge and skills, they are more likely to make a wise health decision. For example, this can be done by promoting healthy diet and exercise, as well as conducting routine medical screening for high risk populations. The government can collaborate with local communities and health care workers to educate people and assist them in looking after their own health. In conclusion, while governments can promote the health of their citizens by educating them about healthy behaviours and providing necessary medical checks for high population groups, it is finally the individuals' responsibility to decide what to do with their bodies, and they have the right to do so.