Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rising sales of consumer products do not show the requirement of the public these days rather it displays the power of advertisement. This essay agrees with the notion because people get influenced by the products, which are advertised by celebrities and due to advance technology, there are more opportunities or platforms to display adverts. The main reason is that famous people such as cricketers, actors promote such products and people get influence from them and this result in buying that product. In other words, people want to follow the lifestyle of their favorite something regarded with special favor or liking favourites celebrities and buy unnecessary things. Therefore, they get convinced that they can achieve a better lifestyle or higher social status by using the advertised products. For instance, a study done by the New York Times in the year 2017 revealed that the sales of products that are promoted by celebrities are 35% more than others. Another reason is that with the help of advanced technology the marketers can target potential customers through several platforms such as social media and the internet. That is to say that everyone has access to the internet and other platforms due to technology and these adverts keep popping up on the screen that people are bound to see them. Thus, these advertisements catch the attention of online users and they cannot resist themselves and end up buying those products. For example, according to a survey by the Guardian 40% of people admitted that they buy products only by watching the adverts on social media that they find attractive. In conclusion, these days the increasing sales of goods show how adverts influence the public and do not give any idea about real needs. I agree with this statement because celebrity endorsed products influence the general public and adverts can be promoted on every platform and get the attention of people.