In many countries there is a widening gap between the rich and the poor. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The disparity between the rich and the poor has moved to the extreme ends over the last decade. The rich have continued to gain more investment and grow richer while the poor have remained poor. It depicts the inequality in income distribution between the rich and the poor. This creates a significant rift between the wealthy and the poor and leads to many social problems. Economic disparity not only affects the lives of the people, but also hinders the overall economic development of a nation. The ministry should always strive towards minimizing this gap. If we look at the problems caused by this phenomenon, we will find a number of reasons and solutions of this concern will be mentioned. First of all, in developing countries, especially in rural areas, there are many people who are illiterate, while the employers highly prefer well-qualified staff with expert knowledge and Information Technology or foreign languages. As the result, many people become unemployed, they cannot support themselves and their family. In addition, the globalisation gives good conditions for developed countries to be more prosperous. After that, economic crises occur after several years, as a stage of the economic cycle. Given their capabilities and power, rich nations often recover more quickly than their poor counterparts. This means that the poor is not only more prone to the negative impacts of economic crises but also more difficult circumstances. The gap which was mentioned above is extended quickly. Last of all, many natural disasters usually occur in poor nations. Floods, earthquakes, tsunamis, droughts… killed thousands of people and destroyed an enormous number of houses, buildings and infrastructures. The governments had to pay a lot of cash for rebuilding and recovery. For this issue, there are some solutions to narrow this gap. It is clear that if the education is improved, the unemployment will no longer be a serious problem. People can live and support their family within their incomes. Another suggestion is protecting the environment. This solution not only save people’s lives, but also makes funds for residents by tourism, fishing… or save the precious resources for science… Furthermore, many foundations was established to raise money for poor people. The rich can share their money or food and other essential things for the poor who always live in famine. Even we are not rich, we can also take part in volunteer work to help those people. In conclusion, there are some reasons which are responsible for the differences between rich and poor nations such as weak education, natural disasters and economic crises. However, if we can improve the education or protect the environment, this problem will become easy to solve.