Many people working longer hours, leaving little time for leisure activities. What are the advantages and disadvantages..

In today's world we observe people becoming workaholics giving little to no time for some leisure activities. Long working hours might increase the productivity of a person while ensuring someone to stay focused. In the long run it will have diminishing returns and will negatively impact one's health. I believe we should give equal importance to rejuvenation as much we give it to putting in long hours. There is a bright side to work for prolonged periods of time. It makes us focus on the task, leaving no room for distractions. We can all agree on how important it is to remain focused for getting a task done. Long working hours ensure the continuity of thoughts which is crucial when we are working on a hard problem. It makes the process of figuring out the solution much easier. Working for longer durations can help someone accomplish more quantity of work which will in turn increases the productivity. However, increased work load can have a negative impact on our physical and mental health. For example, research suggests that the stress caused due to excess workload can trigger some hormonal responses in our body which can be detrimental to our health. There has been a drastic increase in the psychological cases such as depression, anxiety and suicidal tendencies due to the increased work pressure. Contrary to the popular belief that more working hours produce more output, it has been proved that the opposite is true since it is unsustainable in the long run without having any negative health impacts. That is why, it is paramount for us to take a break from work once in a while and indulge in leisure activities. Because, they help your body recuperate from all the physical and mental toll it took from the hard work you have put it. To conclude, long working hours can result in the increased productivity, but it comes at a price. The price being, the well-being of an individual. Working hard is really admirable, but at the same time one should give importance engaging leisure activities as well.