The world of work is changing rapidly and employees cannot depend on having the same job or the same working conditions for life. Discuss the possible causes for this rapid change, and suggest ways of preparing people for the world of work in the future. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Humans spend a third of their lives working, therefore a job is something individuals are highly dependent on. Nowadays, there is a rapid change in industries which significantly impacts workers, some of them losing their jobs or failing to keep their businesses alive. Reasons for this are the apparition of technology and the demand on the market. One of the major factors causing uncertainty in the world of work is the rise of technology. As programming advances and codes are being developed, many basic jobs are being replaced by technology to reduce costs and improve efficiency. For example, a simple cashier job could be entirely replaced by self-checkout stations, leaving hundreds of people without a job. Therefore, it can be predicted that, in the future, there will be a strong correlation between the encouragement towards the advancement of technology and the growth of the unemployment rate, as jobs get substituted by artificial intelligence. Society is fluctuating and getting lost in trends which influence the demand of certain products. For instance, a type of shoewear that would have been highly sought for a decade ago, could entirely lose its popularity by present times, thus causing a business to lose all its clients and ultimately close down. It is difficult to expect what the public will like and hopefully keep buying as generations change. To summarize, as people find new interests, beliefs and acquire knowledge, changes also appear in their lifestyles. Rapid shifts come with uncertainty, transforming the world of employees into a construction site which could be demolished any minute, by various external factors. To prepare for the future of the world of work one should be open-minded, well-informed, and always have a plan B.