The government should lower the budget on the arts in order to allocate more money to education. To what extent do you agree?

It is clear that, art in many ways represents a mirror to the society and has great cultural significance. However, many people believe, the government should stop funding the art projects and redirect this budget to develop the educational system of our country. I personally do not agree with this argument, and through this essay I will support my views with examples. A strong educational system leads to the upliftment and growth of a society. For example, the main driver behind the industrial revolution of 1800's, was because of the educational reforms which was started by the French government. It has been estimated that, by the late 1800's approximately 3 million people were lifted out of poverty at the end of the industrial revolution. As a result, people started spending more and this led to the development of many of the modern industries we see today. However, I would argue that just by only focusing on education; will not lead to the overall development of a society. For instance, it was a painting of Da Vinci that later inspired the Right brothers to develop the first aeroplane in the early 1900's. Over the years, communities have always used painting and other art installations as a symbol to voice their opinion against injustice in the society. Hence, In is very important to have an ample budget for the development of art in a region. In conclusion, although education is the cornerstone for the development of a society, it is also important to preserve and develop art of a region