Some people think that the development of technology helps to reduce crime, while other people think it encourages crime. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. devlpt of techno reduces crime Devlpt of techn encourages crime

There is no doubt that technological advancements have tremendously impacted every facet of human activities. Some people think that technology helps crime, while other people hold the view that it encourages crime. Firstly, technology is an enabler in all the fields of human endeavour. This has been negatively exploited to support and enhance criminal activities. For instance, in the banking sector, financial activities have evolved over the years. There has been a shift from over-the-counter transactions to electronic based payments. Consequently, recent reports on fraud trends indicate that the technologically driven payments are responsible for the huge fraud losses. In addition, identity theft, business email compromise as well as wired transfer frauds pose serious concerns for anti fraud professionals around the globe. An example is the recent case involving some Nigerian nationals and the a Federal Bureau of Intelligence. On the contrary, technology has changed the mode of business transactions. This includes: health care, aviation, hospitality, and agriculture. Payments can be made for goods and services irrespective of location and the financial institution where the account is domiciled. Similarly, technological advancements have aided the movements of goods and services from one place to the other. This can be seen in the trade relations between China and America for instance. In conclusion, I am of the view that technology has resulted in an increased crime rate. However, anti crime controls should be properly embedded into the technologically advanced systems to help mitigate the rate of crime.