An increasing number of professionals such as doctors and teachers are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation?

Increasingly, experts are emigrating to developed nations from poorer ones. The biggest problem caused by this phenomenon is the resulting brain drain for the countries they leave, and the provision of adequate value is the most viable solution. One major problem caused by experts' emigration to richer countries is brain drain. This is because skilled workers perform important duties which help build the economies of their countries of origin. Doctors and teachers, for example, carry out the crucial tasks of ensuring a healthy workforce and nurturing current and future brain power. Consequently, if the occupants of these professional positions, exit a country in large numbers for greener pastures, it's economy becomes weaker as a result. To illustrate, a recent report by the United Nations shows that countries with the highest number of economic emigrants such as Iran and Nigeria, have also shown a progressive decline in their annual GDP between 2009 and 2017. As a solution to this challenge, therefore, governments of poor nations should provide sufficient value to their labour force. This can be done by ensuring that vital areas such as health, education and infrastructural development are prioritised in budgetary allocations. When these are properly funded, professionals would have the proper tools and equipment to work with, as well as receive competitive compensations and benefits for their efforts. For example, after the Ghanaian budget began to allocate over 20% of the annual budget to education in 2001, the percentage of teachers and lecturers leaving the country annually, dropped from 14% in 1998 to 5% in 2007. In conclusion, a large number of professional workers leave less developed countries for more advanced ones, causing a drain in their home country's mental capacity. A reasonable solution to this would be for governments of these countries to prioritize and add value to key developmental areas.