In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people's average life has become longer than before. Some critics argue that this phenomenon may produce the government with several issues. However, the other believes that the elderly can have a positive effect on our society, and I support this perception. On the one hand, some people believe that older people are the burden of the government for several reasons. First of all, because older people usually suffer from health problems, such as heart, blood pressure or brain, they need a lot of medical resources and health care. Hence, the government should allocate more budget for health insurance. As a result, it may decrease funds for other programs. In addition, the older generation tends to have a conflict with younger people, making society unpeaceful. For example, they always fight with teenagers or young women about the priority seat since they believe that only they have the privilege to sit it. Therefore, sometimes, the seniors cannot provide any benefits to our lives. On the other hand, I consider that older people can assist our society in becoming better. The reason is that the elderly are able to share their unique experience with the younger generation, letting specific fields keep improving. For example, enormous older construction workers acquire plenty of excellent knowledge and experience. If they can pass down their techniques to younger workers, the field of construction can grow continuously, and more techniques can be developed based on older people's experience. Therefore, I believe that older people are fairly important in our society. In conclusion, while senior people sometimes may be an issue to the government, they still provide us with numerous benefits and help society improve.