Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Knowing a foreign language is inevitably important if an individual stays and travels overseas. Even after it is widely seen people face enormous social and practical obstacles to communicate with others in foreign countries. It is agreed that knowing a foreign language is significantly important to avoid various social and practical issues because it will create a communication barrier in many aspects of everyday lives. To begin with, social integration is a fundamental choice for an immigrant or a traveller. This integration will be smoother if an individual at least holds the beginner level of the local language skills. Moreover, lack of communication can make an individual isolated and frustrated in their stay in foreign countries. For example, an immigrant can not adopt a regular life if he did not know some basic knowledge of the language, this may include facing problems in using public transport, visiting a doctor or admitting the children in a local school. To accept this crucial fact, some countries like Canada offer free language learning for immigrant which ease their initial social integration easier. In addition, there are many practical problems could arise in everyday life if a person cannot communicate in a local language. For instance, hiring a taxi or ordering food in a restaurant is hardly difficult in countries like China and Russia. Nevertheless, the tech companies working rigorously to overcome those practical language problems which may ease the life of short term travellers. To conclude, the language has a significant impact on everyday lives. And, it can ease a lot of trivial and serious problems which can impact the overall satisfaction of an individual while his stay in an overseas country. I firmly believe, everybody should learn the basic level of the local language before travelling.