Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is thought by some that it is the responsibility of parents to show their offspring how an honest member of society is to behave, while others feel that this should happen at school. This essay believes that although parents can encourage this type of behaviour from an early age, a school is better because it can reach every child. Parents have access to their children from birth and in these formative years the children can easily be taught to understand the need to obey rules and respect others. Young children assimilate concepts easily; therefore the onus should be on parents to make sure that this happens. For example, a case study in the UK showed that 90% of children who were well-behaved when starting school were still well-behaved at 18. This essay, however, believes that this will only affect the children whose parents have high moral standards. Schools, on the other hand, can implement an ethics syllabus which is studied by every child. Regardless of a student’s background, each one of them must attend the same lessons, meaning they will all see how they are expected to behave and what role themselves Will play in their world. For instance, Ireland has seen a downward trend in the number of young offenders since introducing ethics classes 16 years ago. This essay, therefore argues that, because of the consistency found in education, school is the best place for learning social values. In conclusion, for children to become upstanding members of society, although they can benefit from the early exposure of parental guidance, this essay believes that the objective teachings in school are more valuable and so should be favoured.