Some believe that school children should not be given homework by their teacher, whereas other argue that homework plays an important role in education of the children. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Whether or not school children should be given homework is becoming a debatable topic. Some folks believe that homework plays a vital role in the development of the children while some set of people argue with this view of giving homework. In my opinion, I believe that it is a necessary aspect of education. To embark with, there are various benefits of giving homework to the school children. Firstly, homework helps children to retain their learning for a long time. Homework makes them to practice the things twice that they have studied in the class which helps them in gaining expertise over concepts. For example, performing the same mathematical problem again at home, students consolidate the understanding of the concept taught by their teacher at school. Secondly, homework also teaches independent learning and time management skills to the student. Therefore, homework is necessary for the holistic development of the children. On the other hand, there are some set of people who are in the favour of no homework. They believe that homework puts extra burden on the children. They feel isolated and depressed as they do not get time to spend with their family members and friends. To illustrate, a study of health-department of Oxford university has proved that 30% of the children who invest more time on homework in contrast to other activities develop more stress. In addition to this, they barely get time for playing games which will help them to stay physically and mentally agile. Hence, due to all these reason, homework is considered to be unnecessary. In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks, the positive of getting or receiving homework is overwhelming. However, teachers need to ensure that they have not burdened students with excessive work.