Everybody should be allowed admission to university study programs regardless of their level of academic ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that college learning programs should admit all interested persons, notwithstanding their educational qualifications. This essay completely disagrees with this notion and would argue firstly, that it can lead to failure and secondly, to a waste of resources. To begin, if tertiary institutions let people study courses that they have not demonstrated a mental capacity for, can lead to failure. This is because those with poor abilities are likely to, at best, have average performances, or at worst, receive failing grades repeatedly. Consequently, they would graduate with mediocre degrees or none at all, meaning lower chances of securing well paid jobs and of building satisfying careers. For example, a survey conducted by the UK government in 2017, revealed that on the average, students who graduated with 3rd class degrees or below, earned 10 times lower than their counterparts with better results. In addition, allowing men and women study without a proof of their ability to do so, might result in a lot of resources being wasted. The reason for this is that third level education is expensive, costing up to $12,000 per year in the UK, for instance. If a student picks an area of study and is then unable to complete it because he finds it difficult, a lot of money, which could have been channelled to other purposes, would have been wasted. In conclusion, some people believe that everyone should be admitted into university academic programs, irrespective of how they have performed academically in the past. This essay strongly disagrees with this and has argued that it could lead to failure and wasting money.