Being a celebrity - such as a movie star or professional athlete - brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity has more benefits or drawbacks?

Being a celebrity comes with disadvantages as well as advantages. This essay will argue that there are greater benefits of this than drawbacks. The essay will first demonstrate that popularity affords stars many opportunities and secondly, that it helps them impact society for good, followed by an analysis of the major drawback, which is societal pressure. One major benefit that many celebrities enjoy, is easy access to chances to make money. This is because, companies would usually recognize their value as social icons and want to exploit this to grow their businesses, by paying them to serve as brand ambassadors for their products. For example, an article published in 2002 by the New York Times, reported that Michael Jordan made over 1000% more, from advertisements than from what he earned as a pro basketball player. Furthermore, being popular can give superstars the power to influence society to do good. The reason for this is that they are well respected by their fans who would normally accept whatever they stand for as truth. For instance, in 1999, a number of musicians and actors, including Michael Jackson, used the 'Heal the World' movement to raise funds that helped to eradicate starvation in Sudan. Despite these, a major drawback would be that fame puts people under pressure. Consequently, this could lead to depression or even suicide, among star performers, although there is little evidence to support this claim. To illustrate, a recent survey by the Mental Health Foundation in the UK, showed that celebrities are 4 times happier and mentally healthier than the average citizen. In conclusion, the popularity that famous people have, comes with benefits as well as drawbacks. This essay believes that those advantages, such as helping them advance financially, as well as influence the world for charitable causes, outweighs the flawed argument that it mounts undue pressure on stars.