Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. Do you agree or disagree?

In this age of technology, accessing the material online has gotten easier over the years and this process is making local libraries inessential. It is my opinion that libraries are no longer needed since data can be easily accessed online. Firstly, the internet has just as much if not more information readily available. Nowadays, the internet is updated daily from different sources, resulting in it being current and relevant. For example newspaper articles and other reading are posted online to make it more accessible and cost effective. Needless to say, some websites are more worthy of your trust than others, but the same is true for printed material as well. Everything that can be found in an encyclopedia, dictionary or book has been online just a click away. Furthermore, A student can purchase a book need for a class or just for leisure reading and have it on their electronic devices to be used at their own convenience. To illustrate, colleges are now offering reading material online from ebooks to class work. While the library has a lot of useful material it might be more inconvenient for a student to get there. Instead of going, a student can research data needed for assignment quickly. Moreover, Going to the library may take more time than one has once you include both travelling to the library and the time it takes to locate information needed. In conclusion libraries are outdated and not scalable to the demanding needs of younger generations and students. Conversely, the internet is a preferred method for students to access necessary resources because it provides convenience, safety and cost efficiency.