Some people spend more time reading books, while others prefer to watch TV. The former group are more likely to develop creative imaginations and have a much better grasp of language skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Reading has never lost their unique power to attract people and transport them to a different world. Nowadays, due to the high competition in schools and workplaces, people are constantly seeking better methods to acquire knowledge and capabilities. Some people argue that reading is a better way to develop creative imaginations and practice language skills than watching TV. Personally, I totally agree this opinion. On the one hand, compared to those who watch TV, those who spend more time reading books are more likely to experience the benefits of linguistic and creative development. When people read, they need to construct the actions and expressions of the characters in the text trough imagination and creation in their mind, which, unlike the image shown on the TV to restrict their imagination space. For example, in fact, people will find that reading a novel is often more interesting than watching a movie, and they will feel and understand the same story differently each time they read it. On the other hand, reading books will contribute not only to people’s understanding of language but also their ability to use it in speech and writing. The language, grammar and logic using in books is always more accurate than the words provided from most TV programmes. For instance, those who spend more time on reading books often have a good ability of speech and writing, their expression more logical, accurate and easy understanding. In conclusion reading books allows for everyone to learn more, develop imagination and improve language skills and thus they will have more competition than those are only watching TV during studying and working.