Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment in essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent times, there is a stiff opposition that has commenced against the practice of the death penalty. While the majority of the society believes that such grave punishment would suppress the crime rates and the brutality. Some sections oppose such injustice meted to any individual. I do agree that capital punishment would control the society from getting into a state of lawlessness. However, I have certain hesitations in completely accepting it. On the one hand, there are stronger reasons to defend the practice of the death penalty. For example, if there were mass killings of people by some anti-nationals then definitely those have to be weeded out and to be given a death sentence. In not doing so, will send a wrong signal to the country’s citizens that their life is at stake. Furthermore, such judicial sentences were pronounced only after careful consideration by the judiciary, in regards to the magnitude of the crime. So such judicial sentences have never been given to each and every criminal. Moreover, this would sound a death knell to rest of the underworld mafias to relinquish their illegitimate activities and surrender before the justice. On the other hand, there are various voices that keep defending against the practice of sending criminals to the gallows or any capital punishment for that matter. For example, the Amnesty International says that, no one has the right to kill people in the name of the death penalty. Their death sentences should be commuted to a life sentence as every life deserves to live. Although such criminals would have committed some of the gravest crimes, they should never be killed in the name of law and justice. Because, justice should be constituted to reform the society but, not to kill the society and to turn it as anarchic. To recapitulate, we don’t have the prerogative to take someone’s life in the name of law or justice. We believe failed or delayed justice is an injustice. Likewise, killing someone in the name of justice is no different from being injustice. Therefore, in my humble opinion capital punishment should be eliminated from the human race. Don’t we live better in doing so?