In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In many countries, life expectancies are increasing. While some people think that this situation causes problems for governments, others argue that having more elders positively impacts society. This essay will explain why having an ageing population is beneficial and its advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, people believe that an ageing population is a major cause of overspending on building basic facilities. While governments should focus on investing in other aspects such as education or innovation, they prioritize taking care of elderly people. Regarding the limited amount of money, governments should manage their finances wisely. If they excessively invest in infrastructures that mainly focus on enhancing the elders ' quality of life, they might not be able to improve educational systems for younger generations or even creating innovations. However, that issue can be tackled by incorporating older people in major decisions. Many elders have more experiences and viewpoints. Therefore, they can contribute to more creative and diverse solutions. For example, there was a campaign encouraging people from all generations to propose ideas about building a new park. Younger ones normally focus on public spaces for fun activities such as music events. But since the government involved advice from elders, an aspect of safety is also considered, making the park better for society. In conclusion, due to an increase in the number of elderly people, some believe that there are more problems for governments to solve. Others still argue that the benefits of having elderly people in society outweigh the drawbacks because older citizens have more beneficial experiences and advice. If governments encourage elderly people to share useful ideas to address problems, many issues will be alleviated more thoughtfully.