In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some countries, young people are motivated to join job or to travel for a year between termination of schooling and beginning tertiary education. Although, it enables these young minds to enrich themselves with the real world experiences, it poses a risk on further education of them. On the one hand, doing work or travelling helps individuals to broaden their horizons. In academic paradigm learners are not able to see the practical implications of things and they learn in books, While doing the job or travelling to different destinations these individuals are able to come across different situations and people. This, helps them to learn and understand better about the practical aspects of the education in further life. For Example, I took a sabbatical of 1 year before my university education and worked as an intern sales representative, which later helped me in various skills. On the other hand, many people do not resume education once they taste this independence. This is because many people assume that they just need to earn degree to get a handsomely paid job, if they are able to earn well they don't need to resume further university degree. For Instance, One of my friends who joined a job after schooling never joined the university education again and today he works at a clerical job. In conclusion, While the trend of taking the sabbatical among the young people helps them to learn about the new perspective, it is a serious issue of the low number of people joining the university education.