These days many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and use them for a very long time. Explain why you think this change has happened. What are the effects of this change in attitude?

Recent decades have revealed many changes in people’s attitudes. One such seemingly ubiquitous transformation is how people deal with their material possessions. A couple of generations ago, people would maintain their belongings for as long as they could, taking care of the necessary repairs as they go. Today’s generation, in contrast, does not think twice before replacing items that are even slightly damaged. This essay will delve into this phenomenon, elucidating the core causes underlying this change and offering a view on how today’s society is influenced by the same. There is an array of reasons behind this shift in attitude. Firstly, fashion and technology are rapidly changing in today’s age, which makes people perceive things as ‘out of date’, even if they are just a few months old. Secondly, social media has created a platform for everyone to proudly showcase, and quite often flaunt, their latest furniture, gadgets, and other personal and domestic items. This puts constant pressure on everyone to keep upgrading their things. Also, in this era of mass production, it is much more convenient, if not economically, to buy a new item than to get an old item repaired. As a result, it is quite easy for anyone to fall into the habit of replacing without repairing. The effects of this phenomenon are widespread. The foremost is the impact on the economy. As more and more things are bought, the change is fuelling the manufacturing sector at a much faster rate than previously seen. The economic downside, however, is the decline in the cottage industries that catered to repairing works. Finding a repairing shop for electronic goods or a cobbler for mending damaged shoes is increasingly becoming challenging, especially in cities. Socially too, the wish for everyone to own something new is irresistible, which is resulting in a narcissistic attitude. While there is no positive or negative aspect of these changes, it is evident that the changes are myriad and vivid. To conclude, it is difficult to address at this stage whether this will continue to affect us to what degree. However, it is certain that a number of reasons are contributing to people’s preference for replacing without repairing, and that the society is affected by the same on multiple fronts.