Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

It is widely argued that people tend to lose the habit of walking regularly nowadays. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this negative view before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle this problem. There are two primary reasons why a minimum of people walk regularly. One reason is that the convenience of technology could lead people to live more lazily. Taking a prime example, living in residential areas, citizens could take a lift to get to the floor they want, which is very easy compared to the stairs. This acts as a precursor to their inactive lifestyle due to lack of exercise in a day. Another reason is that the overuse of technology has also discouraged people from engaging in physical activities. For instance, some online platforms on the Internet, namely Facebook or Instagram have plenty of eye-catching content which could attract people to spend time on the Internet. As a result, people no longer walk regularly like before. To combat this worrying concern, the following feasible steps should be taken. First and foremost, using elevators should be restricted in low-rise buildings, just in case of the elderly or disabled people. This method would benefit the local inhabitants to walk more often and give rise to overall health. Secondly, governments should invest money in building infrastructures for walking, such as parks, which stand a great chance for citizens to go for a stroll with their families and enjoy the scenery, thereby helping them get into the habit of walking regularly. In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind this negative perception, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be taken to encourage more people to perceive walking as a necessary part of their lives.