Governments should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Due to the advancement of the medical science, elderly citizens are on the increase and hence, their expenses to survive have also been increased. There is a portion of the society, who believes that, it is not the responsibility of the regime to facilitate older people financially for their survival, because, elders can collect the funds, when they are young. However, I partially agree with the given statement and the reasons are explained in trailed paragraphs. To begin with, undoubtedly, the old age is the part of the life and everyone must have to suffer from this stage of the life. So, it is the responsibility of individuals to save money and use that in their senility. Furthermore, at this age, their children have turned into adults and they have started earning, and as, their parents have contributed a lot to educate them, it is also the children's responsibility to help them in their declining years. Moreover, governments of any nation have plenty of other sections, in which, they have to provide funds. For example, in some developing countries, some people are still deprived of the basic necessities, such as, food, cloth and shelter, let alone the getting advantage of the pension in their old age. Therefore, the authority should use the fund to provide every citizen the basic necessities instead of, spending on the older people. Despite these arguments, it is an irrefutable fact that, people are paying heavy taxes, while they are working, for the betterment of the society. Additionally, they have also contributed a lot to serve the society in their young age. So, in their declining years, they can definitely expect the support, in the form of the care and the monetary matter from the society. To conclude, to some extent, I believe that, they deserve the help from the authority. However, individuals should prepare financially for the later stage of the life.