Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Studying various topics at universities is a subject of debate. A significant number of students have a passion to gain knowledge in numerous subjects. However, others hold this view that they should focus on their main ones to get higher scores for their qualifications and become experts in one specific area. I completely agree with the former viewpoint, and in the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on the reasons behind my perspective. Studying different lessons at universities aligns with a substantial number of benefits. Expanding knowledge and skills in various fields is a prime example of its advantages. Consequently, if the graduates foster their abilities in numerous areas by studying more subjects, they may have higher chances of securing employment in their future careers. Recent research reported by the BBC in 2019, mentioned that the rate of unemployment among students focused on their main subjects witnessed an 80% rise compared to the ones who were enthusiastic to learn about various topics. Those who advocate for studying mandatory subjects at universities argue that, if students become experts in their main subjects, and boost their abilities in one area, they will be more successful in their future jobs. This has led to a developed society where everyone has higher expertise in one specific field. A 2019 experiment conducted by Cambridge University, assessed the number of creative projects designed by students in two distinctive groups, one group was allowed to study only their main subjects, on the contrary, the other was free to study as many topics as they wanted. The results illustrated an impressive increased number in the former group by 70%. Thus, maintaining higher knowledge and skills in one specific field provides more opportunities for students to become creative people, resulting in the improvement of their societies. To sum up, I do acknowledge the view, claiming that spending time on the main subject at university should be a priority for student, as this enhances their creativity abilities. Notwithstanding, securing employment is a pressing issue in every nation. Admittedly, if students gain more skills and knowledge in an ordinated number of subjects, more job opportunities will be offered to them. Therefore, the rate of unemployment will decrease.