2. The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world.

As the tourism industry is flourishing, English is also becoming the most spoken throughout the world and some people believe that one day it will be the only way to communicate worldwide. This concept will have both advantages and disadvantages. The most common advantage being the lack of barrier of communication, whereas the commonest disadvantage includes the death of individuality of nations. On the one hand, the single language proposal will lead to more coherence between the countries. There will be increased interaction and the populations will mix up with each other. This will lead to more exchange of customs, cultural values and traditions. Furthermore, the trade will enhance and ultimately this will lead to progress and prosperity globally. For instance, the Shangen states have progressed by following this simple rule and there is close harmony among the states of the European union. On the other hand, using one mean to interact with each other will lead to the decline of individual identity of a community. Firstly, there will be loss of rich culture and traditional traits. Furthermore, the national integrity will also be lost. So, the unique attire of the locals will be swept away. For example, united nations report on linguistics states that ever increasing trend of speaking English at international forum has led to the diminished popularity of small nationalities. To conclude, using a specific language by all the people will have both positive and negative impacts, but balance must be maintained to avoid disturbing the equilibrium.