Communication is less between family members of late. Do you agree or disagree? To what extent?

The methods and patterns of communication we use today are very different to what they have been in the past. Not only has this had an impact on businesses, there has also been effected on families. I disagree with the view that interaction has decreased between family members. I firmly believe there is more communication in families nowadays. In this essay I will use examples from UK research on mobile phones and internet communications to prove my argument. Firstly, the growth in mobile phones allows family members to contact each other regularly. This is largely because the majority of the population carries a phone. A recent UK mobile operator survey showed that spouses contact each other ten times a day on average. This was not possible before the widespread use of mobile phones. This demonstrates that we have never been better at staying in touch with our loved ones. Secondly, the creation of worldwide internet communication allows families to get in touch easily, even though they may be in different countries. This is due to the speed at which we can communicate with each other today. For instance, the Skype company has published statistics showing that seventy percent of people use Skype to contact family overseas. Therefore, in today's world we are more connected with our family, despite the distance. To summarise, the advancements in mobile phone technology and internet communications have revolutionised the way we stay in touch with our families. We are now better connected to families because of the speed and ease of these innovations. It is predicted that we will continue to converse in many new ways in the future. I believe this will bring us closer to our families.