An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

It is increasingly common to shop in online stores, but although online shopping seems more convenient, there are disadvantages to abandoning the retail stores. In this essay I will address some of the pros and cons of shopping online. One of the main advantages of online shopping is simply a matter of pricing. As online stores don’t have the need of having a physical location, with employees, labour costs are driven down and savings are transferred to the final product prices. One of the largest companies in the world, Amazon, started selling books online and nowadays is a multi-billionaire business with global presence. For instance, when buying online at Amazon, the consumer has access to a free marketplace with multiple vendors, which are rated by product prices, consumer satisfaction and it even allows the shopper to review its ‘buying-experience’. Even though online shopping is cheaper, local stores are the support of many families. When a brick and mortar store closes down, a family ceases to receive perhaps an essential income. This is why it is important to have a backup income and not depend on what has now become an obsolete way of retailing. It would be helpful, for example to set up an online service related to the existing store offering, like taking appointments online rather than having an employee to do this specific job. People are shopping online because of its practicality and its apparent elimination of intermediaries, thus finding cheaper prices in online stores and increased inventory. One of the main advantages of this shift in purchasing behaviour is that shipping costs are decreasing, while having shorter delivery times. On the other hand, there are a number of companies not finding a way to survive and eventually being forced to close, as a consequence of the growing number of competitors that offer online alternatives.