Some people think that zoos are cruel and that all zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful for protecting rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Zoos are a popular destination to spend time and learn interesting facts about the wild animals. Some people claim that zoos are merciless towards animals and should be banned, while others argue that, that is not the case. In this essay I will examine both the perspectives and provide an opinion. Zoos can be unsuitable for many wild animals due to violent treatment against them, therefore facilities like these should be abolished. Some people consider zoos to be a cruel environment where zoo owners camouflage their cruelty with conversational claims. Besides, wild animals are supposed to be in their natural habitat and being encaged and expected to entertain people, causes them to feel sick. Several wild animals, which stay in artificial environments do not behave as their usual counterparts. For example, polar bears can barely walk for 10 meters while in captivity, whereas in the Arctic they roam for hundreds of kilometres. Nevertheless, with human exploitation of forests steal wild animals of their natural habitat. Poaching is also a major reason for the diminishing population of rare wild animals. Hence people feel that zoos can be useful as they can protect the animals, especially the rarer ones, from being extinct. Also, with trained staff and safer environment they can have healthier lifestyles and produce offspring. Furthermore, zoos have veterinarians to treat and maintain the health of the animals. In conclusion, zoos need to treat wildlife with care and stop manhandling them for entertainment purposes. According to me, they play a vital role in protecting the endangered animals, however, providing a more realistic environment could help the animals feel more comfortable.